Article feature: Sangra Corazón


Feature in El Papel Literario, Sunday insert of El Nacional newspaper.

Article covering my as co-curator, artist and coordinator for the exhibition -Caballo de Troya-.

The Jacobo Borges Museum in Caracas curated the exhibition Caballo de Troya, a project focused on a dilapidated jail within a dilapidated legal system, the Retén Judicial de Los Flores de Catia. The research, documentation and creative process lasted approximately two and a half years. In 1997 the exhibition inaugurated with works by 23 artists and 33 writers, the inmates where relocated to a different facility outside of the capital’s perimeter and the building was imploded just a week before the opening.

I was lead of the co-curatorial team for the museum, coordinated artist on site visits and documentation and was as well one of the exhibiting artist.

About Bubu

When I visualise the world I see a pan, in it are the earth, air and water, they symbolise literature, science and maths, the languages are the medium, culture and civilisation are the art, and the people are the recipe. Bubu is my given nickname, just as María Isabel Alvarez Kirkham, is my birth name. I am a graphic designer and artist focused on spacial and sensory communication, with work ranging from visual communication design to installation art.

Leave a comment